dameware.com

The Official DameWare Development Community Forum

Skip to content

IP Address 123.123.123.123

This is where we talk about anything and everything pertaining to DameWare Development software.

IP Address 123.123.123.123

Postby SAMark on Thu Mar 13, 2008 6:26 pm

Hello,

This may be either an interesting or unusual thread, but I am a computer security professional that has been alerted to a possible intrusion incident on one of our networks. The possible victim machine is being sent to me as I type this, so I have not gotten the chance to look at it first hand yet. However, I have been alerted that this machine may have DameWare installed in part or completely as well as the potential offending IP Address of 123.123.123.123 being mentioned in some log files. After doing some initial research it appears that this IP address may have some special internal meaning/use within the DameWare product(s). In 20-30 words or less, can anyone tell me if that is true and how this IP may be used within DameWare? Sorry, but other than just the basics I am not very familiar with the DameWare product(s) and Googling and searching the product documentation has not been very productive as many people use this IP as a placeholder for an example for the actual IP you should be using.

I'll let anyone reading this do their own WHOIS look-up for this IP address to understand my concerns. Thanks for any information anyone may be able to provide.

--
Mark
SAMark

Re: IP Address 123.123.123.123

Postby bryan on Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:33 am

Hello Mark,

Wow, I'm not even sure where to begin or what to say about this one. Had I known 123.123.123.123 had such a hidden dark meaning I would have used a different address in my examples (i.e. 123.456.789.012 , etc...) when I created the Command Line Switches KB article years ago. Sorry, I just couldn't resist....

Basically, here are some things you need to know about our software which will hopefully clear this up for you: